Iverson looks to have ruined his reputation – once and for all…

Allen Iverson has always been shrouded by controversy… the practice quotes, scrapes with the law, but his talent on the floor could always make those questions go away. A 10-time All-Star, former NBA MVP and multiple scoring champion, Iverson is perhaps the best little man in the history of the game. But a dreadful first week in Memphis and constant moaning about playing time has led to A.I taking an “indefinite” leave of absence due to personal problems.

According to the Memphis Commercial Appeal, Iverson is contemplating retirement if he doesn’t rejoin the Grizzlies. Annoyed with playing a reserve role and coming off the bench, A.I played 17 minutes in his debut last week against the Kings, backing up starters Mike Conley and OJ Mayo. Immediately after the game, he told the press he didn’t want to be a reserve. “I had no problems with the hamstring. I had a problem with my butt sitting on that bench for so long”, says Iverson.

“I’m not a bench player,” Iverson continued. I’m not a sixth man. Look at my resume and that’ll show I’m not a sixth man. I don’t think it has anything to do with me being selfish. It’s just who I am. I don’t want to change what gave me all the success that I’ve had since I’ve been in this league. I’m not a sixth man. And that’s that.”

Not a good start if you want to prove your doubters wrong, after an offseason where most teams wanted nothing to do with A.I. After a hamstring injury that sidelined him for the entire pre-season, Iverson could not expect to start straight away. Yes, he has been a great player in the league, but the current perception is that Iverson is a shadow of his former self on the court and a big problem off it. Simply said, he should not have been running his mouth off after just one game.

Should Iverson be starting for the Grizzlies over Mike Conley? Of course he should. But he should not be causing problems from the start of his career in Memphis. When he signed for the Grizzlies, people were split on what he would do for the team. Bought just to sell tickets? That was a theory bounded around. Best case scenario was Iverson would regain his form and lead a team with a promising young core of Mayo, Rudy Gay, Marc Gasol and Mike Conley to make a run at the playoffs. And then he could sign with a contender the next year and go for that elusive championship ring to fill that hole in his resume. Worst case scenario is what is happening now: Iverson would moan about playing time about cause a rift in the locker room. If only A.I could have just got on with proving the critics wrong, and then no doubt he would be starting in a few weeks.

When questioned about his relationship with head coach Lionel Hollins, Iverson said, “we have never talked to each other. That’s probably why it’s at this point right now. We’ve just never had a conversation, so it’s probably going to always be hard for me and him to see eye-to-eye, because we’ve never even talked to each other. Obviously that’s what you do if you’re trying to accomplish the same goal.”Not that positive if you want to make a good impression then with your new team.

No team in the NBA is going to want to trade for A.I now. Iverson’s constant moaning about being a reserve has led to probably an inevitable and destructive end with the Grizzlies. The scenario where Iverson led a young Memphis team to the playoffs and then next year to bigger and better things look to be doomed already. If and when Iverson returns to the Grizzlies, hopefully he can be content with being a reserve for a few weeks and let his performances on the court do the talking. If not, it will be a sad end to a career that, frankly, deserved a much better way to go out.

About Tom Jinks

Sports Journalist. Used to write for FootballFanCast.com. Enjoy football and basketball, and favourite NBA teams are Philadelphia 76ers (big fan of Allen Iverson) and Denver Nuggets

Posted on November 8, 2009, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment